Review: Magic Bleeds by Ilona Andrews Book 4 in the Kate Daniels urban fantasy series

If you have not tried the Kate Daniel series by Ilona Andrews, you are really missing out on a cool urban fantasy series. The series is focused on Kate Daniels who works in Atlanta for the Order of the Knights of Merciful Aid as officially as a liaison with the mercenary guild.  In other words, she cleans up the paranormal mess that happens pretty regularly in Atlanta. An Atlanta that has alternating waves of times when magic is up and anything magical works and technology like guns and cars start to fail. Then the other half swings by with the tech side re-establishing itself which then causes the magic spells and protections to fail. There is no predicting when the waves are going to come (maybe guessing, but no confirmed ideas for the people of Atlanta) which makes for a  pretty nifty idea for a unique world that has people trying to adapt to work around the problems this entails.

Currently, with the release of Magic Bleeds, there are four books in the series with one short story focusing on a supporting character in the anthology: Must Love Hellhounds. I always recommend starting with the first or second book in this series as the buildup of the characters and various relationships get pretty complex (and fun!).

Book description for Magic Bleeds:

“When Kate is called in to investigate a fight at the Steel Horse, a bar midway between the territories of the shape shifters and the necromancers, Kate quickly discovers there’s a new player in town. One who’s been around for thousands of years—and rode to war at the side of Kate’s father.

This foe may be too much even for Kate and Curran, the Lord of the Beasts, to handle. Because this time, Kate will be taking on family…”

For free chapter samples/excerpts as well as free short stories that are not tied into this series: http://www.ilona-andrews.com/ I   am going to warn you, I adore this series! I liked the first novel and just loved the second and the third.  I won’t lie; this is one of my top 10 favorite urban fantasy series so I was dying to read Magic Bleeds. When my editor asked me for a review, I barely gave her a chance to finish the sentence before I was like “mine!” I can honestly say I was NOT disappointed with this installment in the series.

For those who love the Curran and Kate interactions you are going to love this book. The wit and attitude is still there as things are getting pretty intense between the two. After the ending of the last book, I was curious to see if things would go easy for them on their potential relationship. I should’ve known better. Nothing is easy for these people! But I have to admit, I can’t sympathize too much for them as it is too entertaining to read the various encounters between the two. Never assume with these books. You will be surprised. If you are expecting everything to be all light and humorous though, you will be in for a shock. I will say that there is some resolution to one of the plots from the overall story arc, but there is plenty still left unresolved for the next book. I am actually happy about that as I look forward to what comes next.

And for those who are not big into the relationship aspect of the books, there is plenty for you in this book as well. The mystery that Kate has to solve hits pretty close to home this time. And I can see where this could have some very nasty problems for Kate down the road if she is not careful. There is a bit of a change to all the characters on one level or another. And you find out more about some of the supporting characters that adds on to the story. One of the reasons why I enjoy this series so is each novel builds upon the previous notions of who or what a character is without contradicting the original concept. I enjoy that as it adds depth to the story. Character growth is strong with this series instead of just keeping everything at the status quo.

The story itself is pretty grim. In many ways, I think it is a darker story compared to the previous two entries. Some of this comes from the major evil power in this book and the connection to Kate. I really enjoy all the characters in this book. Even the evil ones. And the world building is just as interesting as was in the previous three. I also loved the use of the “plague” and how it is being used.  I also like how the authors have consequences to the actions of various characters from previous books. It is rare to see that happen in series. Usually the author will concentrate only on the big evil or the main character. This time, you see the consequences to another character’s actions in regards to Kate. Not what I expected, but so glad the authors went in that direction with him. And there is lots of action. Tons of action. Be prepared for that. The book starts off easy, but the battles can get intense.

I don’t want to go into too much depth of the story, because this time it will be an entertaining, but at times emotional ride for the reader. I don’t want to spoil this one. I will just say don’t think you know all there is about Kate or the other characters as they always surprise you…including the major evil in this book. Recommend for fans of urban fantasy and paranormal romances. There is something for fans of both or either genres. I rate this one as a keeper.

About shartyrant

I am a 30something (depends on what year you read this I guess) female who loves to read. I have a book addiction that would scare many. I adore urban fantasy, paranormals, dark fantasy, science fiction, steam punk, fantasy and science fiction as well as young adults books. I also read mystery, thrillers, horror, erotica, non-fiction, historical fiction and biographies.

Posted on 14 June 2010, in Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

