Review – Web of Lies

Web of Lies – by Jennifer Estep
Who doesn’t love Gin Blanco?  Estep has created a top-notch character who can kill you as easily as look at you, who is learning that philanthropy (providing assassination services for free) is a cure for boredom and bakes when she is stressed!  She is also pretty damn funny with her wry observations and eternal patience.  This is the second book in the Elemental Assassin series.  I recommend you read them in order as the relationship building and backstory are important to the current story line.

Gin is pretty darn bored in her retirement and wondering if she should take some more classes at the local community college when some punks try to rob the Pork Pitt.  This begins a series of events that brings her ever closer to the inevitable show down with Mab Monroe, the biggest, meanest, nastiest bad guy around.  This story brings her up close and personal with one of Mab’s mining buddies as well as into the crosshairs of Mab’s attorney.  Gin meets one of Fletcher’s friends from childhood, who he had a falling out with many years before Gin ever met him.  She signs on to help him and his granddaughter keep their land and realizes she is going to have to kill someone to fix the issue, further driving a wedge between her and detective Caine.  Huh, I just realized with a name like Caine, no wonder he is a loner following his own way, even if it is on the side of good.  Anyway…

This was a good book with a lot of action, and when the action slows, there is a lot of tension, keeping you on the edge of your seat.  I like Gin, even though there are a bevy of heroines similar to her, she has a unique spark all her own.  She is strong, but fiercely loyal to family, smart but not without vulnerabilities and insecurities making her just that much more human.  Her ice and stone powers are interesting and getting stronger.  I am excited for the possible new love interest!  Finally, a man who seems to accept her for who she is ::fingers crossed::  Because, let’s face it, who wants to be with someone who doesn’t really like who you are?  I am really excited to obtain the next installment, Venom.  I give this book 4 stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.

Posted on 15 August 2011, in Fiction, Review. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have been meaning to read these. 😀 woot!

  2. Check them out – fun stuff! I will send them to you once I get “Web” back from the reading circle.

Leave a Reply

