Review – Between Sinners and Saints – Marie Sexton

I have a very simple reaction to this book: I loved it. Really, really loved it.

To put a slightly odd comparison in place, I’ve never actually seen the US version of Queer As Folk, but I never have to, because if it’s not exactly like this, I don’t want to. Between Sinners and Saints is kind of the ultimate gay soap opera, which I mean in a very positive way (I happen to sincerely enjoy a little gritty melodrama, which I feel this is).

I think I might have fallen in love with the main character, Levi, on the first page. He feeds right in to the Id and looks at first glance to be living the dream, as far as the dream is to spend your life relaxing and partying. Without giving too much away, I also felt for him after getting a glimpse below the surface, and though the same character might be easy to dislike in someone else’s hands, I think Marie Sexton nailed him.

This is exactly the kind of escapist indulgence that (I think) romance should be all about. I was absorbed into the story so much that I nearly missed a fairly important business meeting over it. I wanted to know what happened and I wanted my happy ending and I’ve rarely been so satisfied to get it.

Oh, also, massage. Seriously.  You’ll see what I mean when you read it, which you are going to do, right? There’s a great blurb on All Romance Ebooks for Between Saints and Sinners which might just begin to illustrate it for you.

Final verdict? Five stars, no question.

About Cecilia Ryan

Hi! I'm an author of M/M romance and all-around geek! You can catch other posts over at my author's blog

Posted on 28 September 2011, in Review. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

