Review – Wishful Drinking

Wishful Drinking

by Carrie Fisher

This short little memoir was hilarious, even though it doesn’t seem like it should be since it is full of family disfunction, drug addiction, mental illness and electric shock therapy.  Basically she says “If my life wasn’t funny it would just be true, and that is unacceptable.” (pg 17)  I guess she has had a one woman show which is basically the contents of this book which she claims started out as a “singles ad – a really, really detailed personals ad…” (pg 149).  Chelsea Handler is doing something like this too.  I read one of her books about her insane sex life.  Funny.

If you are at all interested in Hollywood intrigue, she explains how her daughter and Elizabeth Taylor’s grandson might be related since they were dating at the time.  She includes a marriage chart and everything, which I had to flip back to quite a few times!  She also expounds on how being Princess Leia changed her life in many interesting ways.  She definitely gets TMI from some of her fans, young male fans especially.  She includes a few funny parts about filming the movies, such as, did you know why there is “no underwear in space according to George Lucas?”  Find out what she wore under that white flowing dress.  Ultimately, it is a fun read to laugh along with a woman who could just as easily be crying with all the crazy stuff that has happened in her life.

It is funny, a bit moving, interesting, though fairly surface about certain things and super short short.  It made for an enjoyable afternoon.  3 stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.

Posted on 27 August 2012, in Humor, Memoir. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I haven’t read a memoir in forever. And I ADORE her. I think I’m going to be picking this one up. 😀

Leave a Reply

