Review – Alien in the Family

Alien in the Family by Gini Koch

This is the 3rd book in a series about Katheryn “Kitty” Katt.  She takes out a bad guy alien in the first book and becomes part of a government alien-run department, Centurion Division.  She is one of the few humans that work with the A-C’s (Alpha Centurions) to keep the world safe from the bad Super-Beings (bad aliens, Kitty works with good aliens).  In this book she is trying to plan her wedding to Jeff Martini, her A-C fiancé, when things go from bad to worse.  Martini’s relations are coming from Alpha Centauri to put Kitty through a series of tests to see if she is fit to be his bride.  Martini happens to be in line for the throne back home…Kitty, a princess?!  Additionally a few more folks are showing up such as Amazonian assassins, spies, alien beasties, shape-shifters, and representatives from the Planetary Council.

Anyway, this book is some more silly fun from Gini Koch.  These books are goofy but totally readable. Kitty is straight talking, a little rude and crude and tends to get to the heart of things quickly.  All the guys seem to want her and she can stop a room by lifting her shirt.  Her brain is amazing and she can figure out interplanetary plots in the blink of an eye.  She can also participate in the loudest, most energetic sex on the planet many, many, many times a day without having problems.  So while she is just a girl-next-door type, she blows everyone else out of the water.  None of us stand a chance.  Jeff Martini is getting a little one dimensional for me.  I was happy to get to meet his family, it made things make a little more sense, but his jealousies and insecurities are getting a bit old.  Hopefully once they are hitched he can get over a lot of his issues.  But he loves Kitty, so that is nice.  Reader is great, his character is front and center in this book and he really pulls things together for Kitty.  Though much of what he is doing is wedding related, so get ready to shop for dresses and think about all the things that have to be done to tie the knot.

One of my favorite things about this book, besides the normal insanity, are the new characters.  They were great!  My absolute favorites were the shape-shifters and of course, the poofs.  The plot lines were about as easy to follow as silly string at times and I wasn’t sure what the heck was going on, as there are so many things happening, but it all comes clear by the end.

So it is funny, I like these books, but there were a bunch of things that annoy me as well.  So, you have to understand that if something in here irritates you, it will be said or done 100 more times in this book alone, so either stop reading now or just let it go and enjoy ride, because it is a totally wacky and wild!  I checked out some reviews and others either loved it or hated it, so be forewarned.  Personally I enjoyed it once I jumped in, and I give it 3 stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.

Posted on 1 August 2011, in Fiction, Review. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You gotta love wacky and wild! Thanks for sharing today.

  2. Wacky and wild rules! 🙂

  1. Pingback: New Post up at the Blah Blah Blah : AlienCollectiveVirtualHQ

Leave a Reply

